Preserving the integrity of these awards and judging purely upon excellence is the absolute priority of the Australia Post Online Retail Industry Awards. The judging process has been designed to ensure all entries are judged on their full merits, professionally and impartially.

Judges for the Australia Post Online Retail Industry Awards are handpicked by the organising team with a view to ensure that the highest standards and integrity are maintained.

A panel of judges will represent a cross-section of the online retail community. A Chairperson will be appointed by the organising team to oversee the judging process and ensure impartiality. It may be the case that a judge may also represent an organisation that has submitted an entry - in this event the judge will abstain from voting in that category.

The judging panel scores each nomination against specific criteria relevant to the category entered. The scores are submitted via the online platform – judges may confer with one another during the process, but ultimately each independent judge submits his/her own scores, which are tallied to produce firstly the finalists from the initial influx of entries, and then via a second stage the winners of each category.


Stage 1

Upon close of entries, the judging panel will score the submissions in Round 1 to a maximum of seven per category, based on the quality of the websites and submissions. The finalists to each category will be announced at the ORIAS Live event on 13 June from 12 -2pm in Sydney. They will also be published online.

Stage 2

Judges will then assess, review and query shortlisted submissions to ensure the accuracy and integrity of the information provided. Entrants may be contacted during this period to verify facts and details. If evidence is found of false representations for any entry, that entrant will be immediately disqualified and barred from any future involvement with the Australia Post ORIAS.

Stage 3

Judges will use a points-based system to score each entry on relevant category criteria, Round 2, which will be sent via the online portal and the Australia Post ORIAS Event Manager. The winner will be the entrant who scores the highest overall number of points within their category. This is a blind system whereby judges only know the scores they have given.

All results will be kept confidential from both the judges and the public until the Australia Post Online Retail Industry Awards Gala presentation on Thursday 26 July 2018.


Each judge will also nominate from the shortlisted entries their preference for the Online Retailer of the Year Award based on a 1-2-3 preference vote.

Andy Powell, Agile Commerce Consulting

Alita Harvey-Rodriguez, Milk It Academy

Louisa Simpson, Ecommerce Consulting

Alice Kuepper, Online Retailer

Grant Arnott, Power Retail

Janie Yu, Fung Capital

Ben Franzi, Australia Post

Nathan Bush, 12HIGH

Matt Newell, The General Store

Sponsors And Partners